Editorial Team

Clifton Linton

Founder, Editor

meet_the_editor Clifton Linton, the founder of the Energy Transport Insider is a 30-year veteran business journalist. He has spent the bulk of his career covering commodity markets. He covered the petroleum markets for 16 years. He spent nine years in Chicago covering the futures and options markets from the floor of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange and Chicago Board of Trade. He has worked on staff for Investor's Business Daily, Dow Jones News Service, U.S. Oil Week (a weekly newsletter covering the wholesale gasoline and diesel markets), Futures World News (a commodity market wire service) and Oil Price Information Service (OPIS). OPIS is a global petroleum market price and news service. It publishes benchmark spot market prices for natural gas liquids and U.S. West Coast refined products, as well as other spot and wholesale refined product prices and news. At OPIS he created and launched the successful OPIS NGL Futures Report. While at OPIS he rose to the position of Executive Editor, NGLs and managed the North America NGL spot market coverage team.

Clif has won the following journalism awards:

  • Interpretive or Analytical Reporting, Specialized Information Publishers Association, 2009 & 2012
  • Excellence in Service - Spot News, United Communications Group, 2008
  • 401(k) Forum, named "Best of the Web" by Forbes Magazine 2000

He lives in the San Francisco Bay area.

Christine Marie Nielsen

Contributing Editor

meet_the_editor Contributing Editor Christine Marie Nielsen is an award-winning business journalist, innovator and entrepreneur. She has close to 20 years of experience covering financial markets working as a staff writer for Dow Jones News Service and Knight-Ridder Financial. She has also served as a global editor to writers in over 75 countries for media outlets including the Christian Science Monitor and Living Earth Television.

Christine applied her innovation talent to the development of technology in journalism, at a time when few women were in the “tech journo” space. She developed the "Dialog Journalism®” brand and runs her own media effort, Geodialog Media LLC. She trademarked Dialog Journalism® as a brand with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office in 2014.

The Dialog Journalism® brand methodology is used by Energy Transport Insider for its community video forums, in cooperation with Geodialog Media. Please contact Christine if you are interested in having a Dialog Journalism® brand session set up to address issues present in your industry.

Christine won the ACE award from Dow Jones News Service twice. She was a finalist in the Chicago Guild Literary Complex Prose Awards for non-fiction.